Authentic Interview: Cindy, CEO and Founder of Tres Pupusas

Tres Pupusas
A few months ago, I was introduced to the products from a company called Tres Pupusas. It happened when I was mindlessly wandering around my local Whole Foods Market, trying to figure out what to make for dinner. I stumbled upon a nice man doing a demo and decided to stop at his table. The food he was serving smelled so delicious! I took one bite and was instantly hooked. I asked him what I was eating and he happily said, “pupusas!” I had never heard of a pupusa prior to this but from that moment on, I’ve been eating at least four Tres Pupusas a week! This lead me to doing a product review on Tres Pupusas (which you can check out here) and even hosting some product giveaways on my Facebook page. I was fortunate enough to spend some time talking with Cindy, Founder of Tres Pupusas. Here is my interview with her:
Q: It’s not a secret that I am obsessed with your pupusas. They are delicious and I want to talk a lot about them in this interview! Before we do, can you tell me a little bit about your background? How and when did your company get started?
A: Thanks Margaux! I’m originally from Chicago and was a school teacher for a number of years before staying home to raise my three children (That’s where the tres in Tres Latin Foods comes from!). I became familiar with pupusas through their bi-lingual school here in Boulder and decided to try and start a small stand at the farmer’s market. We started wholesaling the product just a couple of years ago.
Tres PupusasQ: For those who aren’t familiar with a pupusa, can you give me the breakdown on what it is exactly?
A: The simplest description is a pupusa is a stuffed corn tortilla. It’s the national food in El Salvador, but we don’t think it gets as much credit as it should here in America. We’re hoping to educate and spread the word about them.
Q: What makes your pupusas unique and beneficial for people to include in their daily diet?
A: We think there are a couple of things to consider: First, the portion size is perfect for a good snack or light meal. Each box contains 4 2.5-ounce pupusas. Second, we’re very proud of the “clean” ingredient list on each flavor – we stick to the basics with all natural ingredients. Third, pupusas are incredibly difficult to make from scratch, so we’ve attempted to do the hard work for you and all you need to is prepare them from frozen for 4-6 minutes.
Q: I know that you have a variety of different flavors that you offer. Can you tell me a little bit about them, the ingredients used, and how they taste?
A: Right now, we have 5 flavors. All of them are vegetarian, and two are vegan. The pupusa starts with our non-gmo, organic corn masa, which provides a light yet sturdy exterior, allowing us to fill each one with terrific ingredients. Kids love our bean flavors (pinto bean and cheese, black bean and corn, and Kale and pinto bean), and two of our fan favorites are Green Chile and Cheese and Spinach and Cheese.
Q: I see that your pupusas are non-gmo. Why is that important to you?Tres Pupusas
A: We’re proud that our corn is non-gmo. It’s so hard as a small business to source healthy and safe ingredients and still keep the price-point affordable for consumers.
Q: I also love that your pupusas are gluten-free. How do you get the dough to taste so amazing without the use of wheat and gluten?
A: The beauty of the pupusa is that the tortilla is simply corn masa, water, and a little salt. That’s really it!
Q: Now I know that you can eat pupusas plain and as-is….I do this all the time! But many people don’t realize that you can actually incorporate pupusas into a meal as one of the main ingredients. Can you tell me a little more about that?
A: We have lots of customers who send us pictures with our pupusas as the anchor of delicious meals! The favorite one at the farmer’s markets through the years is to have a pupusa in the morning for breakfast, with either a fried egg on top or with something like scrambled eggs and sausage. So good!
Q: Do you hTres Pupusasave a favorite recipe idea that you can share with us?
A: We recently posted a recipe on our website (www.tresfoods.com) that highlights a pupusa with eggs and chimichurri sauce. This is a pretty simple approach to giving the pupusa a little extra life!
Q: So now that we know about the benefits of Tres Pupusas and how to include them in our diet, where can we purchase them?
A: Thank you! We are in 1000 stores nationwide, from large retailers like Whole Foods to smaller chains like New Seasons, Vitamin Cottage, and Central Market in Texas. We are also in hundreds of independent cooperatives, which we’re so thankful for because to be on the shelves in those stores, you have to have a product that fits their nutritional guidelines.
Q: I have to ask…will you be releasing any new flavors of pupusas this year? 
A: Yes, we’ve already created two new meat flavors which we’re hoping to introduce to the public in late 2015.
Q: Thanks so much for your time! 
A: Thank you Margaux!

 

Learn more about Tres Pupusas by visiting their website at www.trespupusas.com. I also recommend that you check them out on Facebook and like their page!