Authentic Product Pick: Tres Pupusas

Tres Pupusas

 

A few months ago, I was doing some grocery shopping at my local Whole Foods Market. There was a gentleman doing a product demo with what looked like delicious little pockets stuffed with goodness. I usually skip the product demos but whatever it was that he was serving smelled so good that I had to stop. I popped a sample into my mouth and was immediately impressed! I asked the man what exactly it was that I was eating and he told me, “a pupusa with cheese and chili…all gluten free!” I am not going to lie…I had never heard of a pupusa before. But I was hooked. That was the day I became a big fan of Tres Pupusas…and you should become one too!

So, what exactly is a pupusa? It’s a tasty little pocket full of fabulous things that originated from El Salvador. They are usually a corn tortilla stuffed with a variety of different ingredients and then served with a side of curtido (cabbage slaw with vinegar) and salsa roja. Tres Pupusas (created by Tres Latin Foods) was born in 2008 in a 10 x 10 stand at the Boulder County Farmer’s Market in Boulder, Colorado. These tasty pupusas first hit the shelves at the Boulder Whole Foods Market in 2010. They became so popular that you can now now find their pupusas in hundreds of Whole Foods Markets and other grocery stores around the USA!

I recently had the pleasure of trying out three of these delicious products. The first was Green Chile and Cheese Pupusa. I enjoyed this tasty treat with a side of homemade guacamole. The flavors of the pupusa ingredients paired with the taste of the avocado were fantastic! I also enjoyed the Pinto Bean and Cheese Pupusa. These little babies are fabulous on their own or you could even dip them into some of your favorite salsa. Last but not least, my favorite pupusa…the Spinach and Cheese Pupusa! I actually enjoyed these with a sunny side egg on the top for a creative breakfast idea. It was a big hit in my household and I am thinking that it will become a meal that I start serving on a regular basis!

To learn more about Tres Pupusas, be sure to visit their website at www.trespupusas.com. I would also recommend that you check them out on Facebook as well. The next time you are at your local Whole Foods Market or grocery store, make sure you visit the frozen foods section to see if Tres Pupusas are being sold. Your taste buds will thank you for it!