Authentic Food of the Day: Blackberries!

I am a berry-addict! I snack on fresh organic berries all of the time and I always add multiple handfuls to my morning smoothies. When they are in season, I love to pick fresh berries or purchase them at my local farmers market. Blackberries are one of my favorite berries because I love their juicy flavor in addition to their amazing health benefits. Blackberries are full of fiber, which helps keep us regular and our digestive system healthy. They are also a good source of magnesium, zinc, iron, and calcium. The deep purple color of these berries is an indicator of compounds (anthocyanins and ellagic acid) that help prevent heart disease, cancers, and signs of aging. These berries have a high content of vitamin E which helps protect our heart and keeps our skin looking and feeling healthy.

DID YOU KNOW: 

– Blackberries contain folate which helps promote healthy blood.

– Looking for a boost of vitamin C? Blackberries fit the bill while keeping our immune system strong.